Separating services into sub folders disrupts the routing to local hostnames

Hi! I'm a newbie and trying to understand traefik. I have been playing around with their default example as a docker container. In there we're running a whoami service just to demonstrate stuff works. And both the traefik dashboard and the whoami service runs fine. I can even access it on whoami.localhost.

However when I move out my whoami service to its own folder and docker-compose.yml the service is no longer accessible on whoami.localhost and I'd like to understand why that is?

So my setup looks like this:

/traefik/docker-compose-yml

version: "3.3"
services:
  traefik:
    image: "traefik:v2.9"
    container_name: "traefik"
    command:
      #- "--log.level=DEBUG"
      - "--api.insecure=true"
      - "--providers.docker=true"
      - "--providers.docker.exposedbydefault=false"
      - "--entrypoints.web.address=:80"
    ports:
      - "80:80"
      - "8080:8080"
    volumes:
      - "/var/run/docker.sock:/var/run/docker.sock:ro"

/whoami/docker-compose-yml

services:
  whoami:
    image: "traefik/whoami"
    container_name: "simple-service"
    labels:
      - "traefik.enable=true"
      - "traefik.http.routers.whoami.rule=Host(`whoami.localhost`)"
      - "traefik.http.routers.whoami.entrypoints=web"

When separated I can only reach whoami service on a local ip address.

Thanks for helping out.

Hi @meteor. Thanks for your interest in Traefik!

Per default, Docker Compose creates networks per directory.
If you use two directories

• /traefik/
  • /whoami

You will have two separate networks, and treafik is not “seeing” your whoami container.

What you need to do is to create a new (external) network and use this network.

In short something like:

• Create an external network with docker network create <network name>
  • In each of your docker-compose. yml configure the default network to use your externally created network with the networks top-level key.