Traefik/Docker port detection/selection with bridge network and random external port

In my particular case I am using a docker-compose stack that contains Grafana, Influx, and Telegraf - but I think this issue can easily be reproduced with a single container. For experience level, I'm doing this just as a learning exercise on a home server. I'm not an expert by any means so I'm sure there's a lot I don't know here.

Let's say I have a generic container which I place on a docker bridge network. I can specify only the internal port and allow docker to pick a random external port number to avoid conflicts on the host. For example:

services:
  mycontainer:
    container_name: mycontainer
    ports:
        - "8086"
    labels:
        - "traefik.http.routers.mycontainer.rule=Host(`mycontainer.mydomain.tld`)

I can then use docker-compose port mycontainer 8086 once the container is started to find that it has mapped 8086 in the container to $randomport on the host (which most likely will not be consistent if the container is restarted). What I want is Traefik to pick up $randomport for routing so I can just navigate to mycontainer.mydomain.tld and reach $randomport on my container which in turn reaches my container's service. What I find by looking at the traefik dashboard is that Traefik picks up port 8086 as the container's exposed port (so the traffic is routed to $container_ip:8086), which obviously won't work as the external port is something else entirely.