Inconsistency with rate limit middleware

Hello,
I am a little new to traefik and have some questions about setting up a rate limit on my app. I have read through the docs and tried to set up a rate limit to test based on the information within the docs, but there is no consistency with how my app is rate-limiting these specific routes. When I test the endpoints, I do not consistently get a 429 response. For example, let's say I have a basic rate limit of 10 requests per minute, this means I should consistently be seeing 429s if I make more than 10 requests per minute. But with the middleware, sometimes I see a 429 at my 6th request, sometimes I don't see it at all, and sometimes I see it after making 20 requests.

For my setup, I am using a plugin called htransformation to create a new header from the cookie set by flask login, to get the user-id.

apiVersion: traefik.containo.us/v1alpha1
kind: Middleware
metadata:
    name: set-ratelimit-header
spec:
    plugin:
        htransformation:
          Rules:
            - Header: 'X-User-Id'
              Name: 'Set User-Id-Token'
              Value: ''
              Type: 'Set'
              HeaderPrefix: "^"
              Name: 'join cookie'
              Sep: ','
              Values:
                - '^cookie'
              Type: 'Join'
              Name: 'User-Id-Token rewrite'
              Value: 'remember_token=(\d*)'
              ValueReplace: '$1'
              Type: 'RewriteValueRule'

Then add a rate limit with the sourceCriterion to that header that I just created.

apiVersion: traefik.containo.us/v1alpha1
kind: Middleware
metadata:
  name: token-ratelimit
spec:
  rateLimit:
    average: 10
    burst: 8
    period: 60s
    sourceCriterion:
      requestHeaderName: X-User-Id