Can't connect to whoami from documentation

Hello, this is my first time trying Traefik.

From the documentation I did the stand-alone, went to Traefik hub, and followed the instructions for the agent. All I did was copy the docker compose yaml file and toss it into portainer.

version: "3.9"

services:
  # Start the agent with the latest version
  hub-agent:
    image: ghcr.io/traefik/hub-agent-traefik:v1.0.0
    pull_policy: always
    container_name: hub-agent
    restart: "on-failure"
    command:
      - run
      - --hub.token=TOKEN WAS ADDED HERE
      - --auth-server.advertise-url=http://hub-agent
      - --traefik.host=traefik
      - --traefik.tls.insecure=true
    volumes:
      - /var/run/docker.sock:/var/run/docker.sock
    depends_on:
      - traefik

# Start Traefik with the latest version
  traefik:
    image: traefik:v2.8
    container_name: traefik
    command:
      # Enable Hub communication (open the port 9900 and 9901 by default)
      - --experimental.hub=true
      - --hub.tls.insecure=true
      - --metrics.prometheus.addrouterslabels=true

From there, for whoami, I ran from the documentation:

docker run -d -p 8080:80 --name whoami traefik/whoami

Had to add whoami container to the traefik network. Then I went back to hub, published it on port 80, and got the provided URL. From what I've read and watched, the site should be available now from the URL.

But the link doesn't work. The site says "If you’ve reached this page, either you’re lost or Hub is connecting your services to its final destination. Please try again in a moment.". I can only reach the site by using port 8080 on localhost and I just get plain text back.

I've tried rebuilding a few times manually and even changed the yaml to get the latest versions. Not sure what the issue is.

if you check docker logs hub-agent

do you see this message: "message":"unable to get IP"} ?

Yes! It starts doing this before I create the whoami container.